Naked On the Run: Review + Swatches

IMG_0542IMG_0555

One of the many makeup items on my Christmas wish list was the Naked On the Run Palette. My wonderful husband, who does not understand why makeup is so costly, made the big splurge and wrapped up this little ditty for a pleasant Christmas surprise. His reasoning for purchasing the Naked on the Run Palette over my other makeup desires was because “it seemed like the most bang for my buck”. This is exactly why I wanted this palette. It has everything you need. Mascara, eyeliner, lip gloss, six eye shadows, a blush, and a bronzer are snug as a bug inside the tortoise packaging.

IMG_0523
The face products in this palette are on par with Urban Decay quality. The Blush and the Bronzer are pigmented, go on smoothly, and are long lasting. Both can be built up from just a snippet of color to intense and bold.

IMG_0528
The Lip gloss is called Sesso. It is a pinky maroon shade. I am not overly excited about this lip gloss nor am I disappointed. It is fine for everyday wear, but nothing special.

 
This eyeliner is the bomb. I have never used Urban Decay eyeliner and that is about to change. It is a blackish brown color called Stag. This liner goes on smoothly without being too soft and messy. This eyeliner lasts 12+ hours on my upper lash line and around 8 on my lower. It is magical eyeliner.

IMG_0531
The Urban Decay Perversion Mascara managed to meet my sky high expectations. I have never met an Urban Decay Mascara that I did not like and Perversion is no different. The mascara lasts all day without flaking or running. It does a great job of separating and lengthening my lashes.

IMG_0519
The eye shadows in Naked On the Run are decent shadows. The two Matte Shadows Fix and Dare are the best quality shadows as well as the shimmer shade Stun. The other shades have a chalkier rougher texture with less color pay off. My biggest hang up of the palette is the lack of variance between the shades. As I began using the palette I had a hard time getting more than one or two distinguishable looks. I would be much happier with this palette if there was a lighter highlighting shade (5050 was hardly a highlight for me) and a deep black/brown shade to create some drama.

 
I see myself using this palette frequently for travel or when I am in a hurry and I need to grab something “on the run” (it happens sometimes I am terrible with time). The few looks I was able to get with this palette were really nice and all the products were complementary on my skin. I was a bit disappointed in the range of eye shadows. I had really hoped that the darker shades would have a darker color pay off and the highlighter would be a bit brighter. It also would have been nice if they could have squeezed in a brush or two. The palette is for “on the run” and brushes a necessity when you are taking your makeup to-go.

PicMonkey Collage

My look using the Eye shadows, blush, bronzer, lip gloss, Mascara, and Eyeliner

Have any of you tried this palette? Do you have a favorite palette when you are “on the run”?

 

-Addie

6 thoughts on “Naked On the Run: Review + Swatches

  1. ooh this looks amazing – especially the eyeliner. i was hoping i’d get it for christmas (i didn’t but i got other things 😉 ) ❤
    thesartorialcoquette.com
    instagram: the_ch1ara 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

