Marc Jacobs Instamarc Light Filtering Contouring Powder

IMG_0599 IMG_0604

It seems that the big makeup trend this spring is contouring.  Everywhere I look there is a new contouring palette making its way onto the shelves.  Of course I had to check out some of these palettes.  The one that I have been using the most is the Marc Jacobs Instamarc Light Filtering Contouring Powder.

The Marc Jacobs Instamarc Light Filtering Contouring Powder (mouthful much) comes in three different shades.  I cannot buy Marc Jacobs products ANYWHERE locally.  Apparently my town is too Podunk for Mr. Marc.  I really wanted to purchase this product so I started to do my research online.  After I saw Mallory from the YouTube channel Mallory1712 review the palette in the shade Mirage Filter I thought if that pale girl could rock Mirage Filter then I can rock Mirage Filter.  Mirage Filter contains a highlight and contour shade.  The highlight shade is described as a light gold.  I was worried the highlight shade would be too dark, but it is a perfect banana shade to brighten up the under eye hair.  The contour shade is described as a light bronze.  Marc Jacobs hit the nail on the head with this one by making sure the contour was cool toned.  So many bronzer meant to contour lean warm and do not work for most as a contour shade.  For me the shades in this palette are perfect.

IMG_0611

The packaging is sleek with a huuuuge mirror.  The compact itself is almost the size of my hand.  I personally love the packaging.  The Instamarc Light Filtering Cotouring Powders come with .31 oz of Highlight and .31 oz of contour.  Both shades have velvety smooth texture.  There is no need to go to crazy when picking up the product on your brush.  All you need to do is lightly dip your brush into the palette.  If you use too much pressure when trying to pick up the product you will get far too much product on your brush and a bit of fallout.

I am enjoying the Marc Jacobs Instamarc Light Filtering Contour Powder in Mirage Filter.  Right now it is an everyday staple in my makeup routine.  I see myself eventually hitting pan on both the contour and the highlight.  If you’re looking for a contour palette, but are intimidated by the palettes with a bazillion shades this is one you should go for.

Are you into contouring?  What products do you use to contour?

2 thoughts on “Marc Jacobs Instamarc Light Filtering Contouring Powder

  1. My town is also “too podunk” for anything Marc Jacobs (boo!) and I was desperately hoping to pick up one of these beauties in the VIB sale but to my dismay, they were sold out! I enjoyed your review and will definitely be keeping my eye out to snag this up!

    Like

  2. Pingback: May Favorites | Curvy Hips and Done Up Lips

Leave a Reply

